Mountain View Lutheran Church

Sunday, May 21, 2023 • 12 noon Congregational Meeting • Life Together Hall

MINUTES

Attendance

89 voting members of Mountain View Lutheran Church were present.

Call to order

President Kevin Dahl declared a quorum present, called the meeting to order, and opened the meeting with prayer.

Minutes

It was M/S/P to approve the minutes of the November 20, 2022 Congregational Meeting.

Living Hope Capital Campaign funds update Vice-President Bob Yost spoke about the current funds remaining in the Living Hope Campaign. Highlights included:

- The amount received is less than the amount that was committed. The campaign has now ended.
- · Carolyn Dahle, Diane Nelson, Marie Philipsen, Terry Wolfe and Bob Yost served as a small group to discuss how to proceed forward with distributing the remaining funds of the Living Hope Campaign.

It was M/S/P to allocate the remaining funds (\$178,000) as follows: (a) apply \$100,000 toward paying down the debt on the mortgage for the new Administration Offices and remodeled Gathering Space; (b) \$78,000 should be used for Sanctuary improvements and/or property enhancements (parking lot repair); and (c) task the MVLC Church Council with creating a committee to explore interest in having a columbarium on the MVLC property.

Affirmation of Faith update

Pastor Bri Merkle spoke about how we are bringing high school youth into formal membership—via instruction in Rock Ministry retreats and rites, the Faith Stories Retreat in high school, and then the Affirmation of Baptism.

Affirmation of new mission statement

President Kevin Dahl and Pastor Eric Bostrom provided background on how we arrived at our new proposed mission statement.

It was M/S/P to adopt the new MVLC mission statement: As a community following Christ, we LOVE with an open heart, GROW with a curious mind, and SHARE with a generous spirit.

Election of Mission Endowment Fund Committee George Rowe was elected to the Mission Endowment Fund for a three-year term.

Election of Nominating Committee

Mark Cantrell, Terry Freed, and Dotty Shireman were elected to the 2023-2024 Nominating Committee for one-year terms.

Election of Church Council

Fred Albert, Kevin Dahl, Mary Beth Dahl, Jenny Grayum, Karen Hansen, Skip Harrison, Megan Hutton, Dan Lysne, John Meagher, Becky Schaefer, Ken Swanson, and Bob Yost were elected to the 2023-2024 Church Council for one-year terms.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned with closing prayer from Pastor Bri Merkle.

Respectfully submitted, Troy Kehm-Goins Recording Secretary